Scarlet, by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #2)

5 Fantastic princess adaptation series stars!!

Scarlet

I’m really enjoying the Lunar Chronicle series. This is such a different take on the regular princess stories.  These are not stand alone books!!

This second book is about Scarlet but don’t worry it has Cinder in it too! Scarlet’s grandma has gone missing and the police have been of no help. She is doing her normal drop off at a restaurant when she runs into a man named Wolf. He tries to get in Scarlet’s good graces by helping her out. Of course as all of these princesses seem to be she very independent and doesn’t have time for him. When a person from her past shows up at the farm she realizes the Wolf may be the bad guy and decides to hunt him down. She does find the Wolf except he’s not all that she expected. Is he the big bad wolf?? Or is he doing the right thing and helping Scarlet. I was unsure during the whole book as I kept going back and forth on whether he meant what he said at times. Wolf’s shyness really helps you relate to him. He’s always ducking away from Scarlet, this giant muscle man is intimidated by her it seems. He is my favorite male character so far because he was so much more complex than anyone else.

I am really enjoying the strong female characters in this series. While Marissa Meyer does weave Cinder’s story into this book. I understand why she did it. She needed to keep Cinder going and not laying idle while Scarlet progressed so you could see how it was all coming together. I really enjoyed the new characters in this book. The captain while a bit nutty was actually charming.

“Well” Cinder finally grumbled. “I guess that was pretty fast thinking”
A relieved grin filled up Thorne’s face. “We’re having another moment, aren’t we?”
“If by a moment, you mean me not wanting to strangle you for the first time since we met, then I guess we are.”

That part made me chuckle to myself. Marissa’s writing style just draws you into the characters. When they are escaping something or teasing each other you feel the emotions behind it. Which in my opinion makes the story so much better. I love stories that I fall into, where I loose sense of place and time. Will definitely be reading the next book!!

Leave a Reply

