Why Not Me, by Mindy Kaling

5 I want to be Mindy’s BFF stars!!

2015-12-02 17.50.36.jpg

 

Anyone looking for a in depth memoir about Mindy Kaling should not read this. For the person who is looking for humor and honesty definitely pick this up!! I really adored Mindy’s first book so I knew that I would instantaneously want this one and it did not disappoint. This book is based more on her time in Hollywood.

Mindy Kaling is brutally honest in this book, about everything. I love her undying love for her friends and her love for BJ Novak (sorry Mindy I had to look up who he was when you kept mentioning him!!) BJ and Mindy are “soup snakes” aka soul mates. I found all of her parts about BJ hilarious and lovely. You can tell by her writing that they do love each other even if a relationship may never be in their future. You get to follow her working her way through Hollywood. You start out with her working on the show on the Office and how she was also a writer for this show. I love how she is a writer, producer and actress for the show the Mindy Project. You get to see how she deals with all the craziness on a day on the set which includes pictures!! Her meeting the president multiple times was fantastically hilarious. I love how she doesn’t bullshit anyone, she flat out tells you that she worked her ass off for everything she has. It shows when you do her day in the life chapter. Here are some of my favorite bits

“Work hard, know your shit, show your shit and then feel entitled. Listen to no one except the two smartest and kindest adults you know, and that doesn’t always mean your parents.”

“I will leave you with one last piece of advice, which is: If you’ve got it, flaunt it. And if you don’t got it? Flaunt it. ‘Cause what are we even doing here if we’re not flaunting it?

And that, my friends, shall go on my tombstone.”

I received a copy of this book from Blogging For Books for my honest review.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published September 15th 2015 by Crown Archetype
original title
Why Not Me?
ISBN
0804138141 (ISBN13: 9780804138147)

Leave a Reply

