I Wish You Were Mine (Oxford #2), by Lauren Layne

5 Mollie is the cure for broody Jackson stars!!

I wish you were mine

Even though Mrs. Layne is always an auto pick up/buy for me I was really hesitant with this book. See this book involves two sisters and one guy.  So either it would be really well written or it would all go down in flames.  I have to say Lauren Layne did this difficult situation so beautifully I was truly pulling for Jackson and Mollie.

I am loving these Oxford guys just as much as I loved the Stiletto women series. (If you haven’t read the Stiletto series yet I have no idea what you are waiting for?!?)

Ok so Jackson oy vey he was so silent and broody in the beginning, actually he was probably broody through half of the book.  No worries though it was an okay broody, it was almost as if you couldn’t wait to see him crack little by little. He was  a professional football player who’s career was cut short because of a car accident.  After the accident things seemed to spiral.  His already crashing marriage totally crashed and burned, in the worst possible way.  He’s now been hired at Oxford and is thrown into the melee of off the wall characters in that office.  He doesn’t want to make friends with anyone he wants left alone to brood. However those Oxford men and Stiletto women have a way of creeping in on your defenses.  I think Mollie really helps with this area of slowly cracking his shell.  She knows Jackson probably better than Madison(her sister ever did)…

Onto Mollie her crush on Jackson turns into more than a crush when he moves to New York.  She knows he’s hurting and he will barely return her emails or texts.  Finally he agree’s to meet her at a bar, let’s just say the sparks fly from the beginning.  Obviously no one is acting upon these sparks.  She mentions about how bad her living situation currently is, and of course Jackson being the wonderful man he is offers for her to stay with him. Mollie is such a wonderful character while at first she comes off a little naive only wanting to see the good in everyone including her sister she really evolves into a wonderful character.  When she stands up for herself first with Madison and then Jackson it’s those wonderful little moments that broke her (and me) and that made her character all more profound.

Here’s a little excerpt from my ARC. Now I will say they may alter this a bit in the final product but here is where I started to really fall in love with these characters…..

Jackson opened his mouth, but Mollie held up her hand. “Hear me out. What I’m trying to say is that even when I thought maybe you might have slept around, I never stopped being your friend. I never stopped being there for you, and I never will.  That’s what real friends are.  No the ones who have blind faith, but the ones who are still there even when you falter. I’m here, Jackson.  I’ll always be here, so for the love of God, will you stop pushing me away.”

His hazel eyes narrowed. “I feel like that was the worst apology ever.”

She gave him a wide smile and held her arms out. “Would it help if we hugged it out?”

The characters are so real, and so loving.  It was really hard not to root for both of them.  I also enjoyed how while Madison is not the best sister or ex in the whole world you don’t end up wishing a bus would hit her at the end.(okay maybe a teeny tiny bit)  You can see the character growth which is so wonderful.

I have to add in that Riley is my favorite from the Stiletto series and to see her multiple times in this book made me so happy.  I just LOVED it!! I also love that we peeked in on her life as it is now!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

I just love how Lauren Layne writes her stories…they always keep me up late reading because I cannot wait to see whats in the next word, sentence or paragraph.  I highly recommend!!! Thank you to Lauren Layne and the LoveSwept team for my ARC from NetGalley, I have given my honest review 🙂

book blurb…

ebook, 260 pages
Expected publication: February 2nd 2016 by Loveswept
ISBN1101884851 (ISBN13: 9781101884850)

A year ago, Jackson Burke was married to the love of his life and playing quarterback for the Texas Redhawks. Now he’s retired, courtesy of the car accident that ruined his career—and single, after a nasty scandal torpedoed his marriage. Just as he’s starting to get used to his new life as a health and fitness columnist for Oxford magazine, his unpredictable ex shows up on his doorstep in Manhattan. Jackson should be thrilled. But he can’t stop thinking about the one person who’s always been there for him, the one girl he could never have: her younger sister.

Mollie Carrington can’t say no to Madison. After all, her older sister practically raised her. So when Madison begs for help in winning her ex-husband back, Mollie’s just glad she got over her own crush on Jackson ages ago—or so she thought. Because as Mollie reconnects with Jackson, she quickly forgets all her reasons to stay loyal to her sister. Tempted by Jackson’s mellow drawl and cowboy good looks, Mollie is sick and tired of coming in second place. But she can’t win if she doesn’t play the game.

Leave a Reply

