My Kind Of Wonderful (Cedar Ridge #2) by Jill Shalvis

5 I’m moving to Cedar Ridge stars!!

20160110_181437-1

Anyone who has known me for any period of time knows I’m obsessed with Jill Shalvis’s books.  I will recommend these books to anyone because she has never disappointed me in any way.  If you go to read any of her books make sure that you have nothing planned.  You will start to read and never be able to put the book back down until it’s finished. No the little sticky tabs do not come with the books but I love to place them anywhere there is a good part that I want to go back to over, and over..  Ok enough ranting and raving about how wonderful Mrs. Shalvis is and onto the book.

Oh the feels I had for this book were amazing.  Let’s start with Hudson.. Mr. I can handle anything anyone throws at me.  Mr. I don’t need sleep. Mr. I need to take care of everyone and anyone and not myself.  What’s not to love about a Mr. Alpha man who can ski like he was born to do it and is a cop on the side???  Of course he comes with tons of baggage his mom is a little crazy.  She isn’t always in the present which makes things certainly interesting. Apparently she’s been this way his whole life.  Jacob and Hudson learned young to take care of their mom and themselves.  Until they move in with the other Kincaids. After they move in at Cedar Ridge Jacob and Hudson vow to move out together at 18 and take care of themselves.  When it comes time to leave Hudson decides he wants to stay and Jacob still wants to leave.  They have a big blow up in which Jacob leaves and Hudson stays.  Needless to say this eats at Hudson in a bad way.  Until he runs into Bailey.. She is so bright he almost needs sunglasses just to look at her.

I thought I was going to have a super hard time with Bailey’s character due to her overcoming such a bad illness. I’ve been touched by people close to me struggling with some of the same sort of things and it made her character even more real.  Bailey loves bright things and art.  She’s been hired to a do a mural at Cedar Ridge… much to Hudson’s dismay.  She’s never done a mural this big but it is on her list of things to do.  Bailey has had a tough life of never ending doctor appointments and coddling.  She’s tired of being coddled and asked if she’s okay all the time.  Which makes Hudson the perfect distraction.. just a one night stand.. or two.. or three who’s counting??  I loved how Bailey was so out going and so forward with everything.  How she just loved life not matter what got thrown at her. A sneak peek into the book..

“Bay.” He thunked his forehead on the door.

“Because the truth is I know you don’t have time for anyone, even The One. You’ve got a full plate. And I don’t want to be someone’s…something, a something that they don’t have room for on their plate. That would make me…broccoli.” She shuddered. And no one wants to be broccoli, you know.”

I have to say I love Char the Kincaids mom matter of fact I love the whole family.  The dynamic they have is hilarious and wonderful all at the same time.  I love how they accepted Hudson and his brother even though they didn’t have to.  They even accepted “the other woman” aka Hudson’s mom.  Who is hilariously crazy in this I know it’s an emotional thing to deal with someone who’s not quite there but Jill Shalvis displayed it in such a wonderfully honest way. When Hudson face times his mom it’s priceless.

I would recommend 100% I love all of Jill Shalvis’s books…

book blurb..

Mass Market Paperback, 368 pages
Published December 22nd 2015 by Grand Central Publishing
ISBN1455586781 (ISBN13: 9781455586783

 

Bailey Moore has an agenda: skiing in the Rockies, exploring castles in Europe, ballroom dancing in Argentina. Now that she has a second lease on life, she’s determined not to miss a thing. What she doesn’t realize is that item #1 comes with a six-foot-one ski god hot enough to melt a polar ice cap. She doesn’t want to miss out on him either, but Hudson Kincaid isn’t the type of guy to love and let go. And as gorgeous as Cedar Ridge is, she’s not planning to stick around.

As head of ski patrol at his family’s resort, Hud thinks he’s seen it all. But never has he run into someone like Bailey. She might look delicate, but her attitude is all firecracker. And her infectious joy touches something deep within him that he’s been missing far too long. Now he’ll just have to convince Bailey to take a chance on her biggest adventure yet . . . something rare and all kinds of wonderful.

2 thoughts on “My Kind Of Wonderful (Cedar Ridge #2) by Jill Shalvis

  1. I didn’t enjoy this book as much as you did but I did like it. I LOVED when Hud would call Bailey, Bay. I don’t even know why but I almost swooned with delight over that little tid bit. ❤

    Like

    1. I think I enjoyed it more because of having that horrible word cancer in my family. It made me think more live day to day then year by year. The Bay parts were super swoon worthy… I love when she called him Hud for the first time too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

