Magic Slays (Kate Daniels #5)by Ilona Andrews

4 kickass Kate Daniel stars!

Magic Slays

I’m feeling a theme for this year.. this may be the year I read all of the Kate Andrew series that is currently out. Kate Daniels is such a wonderful heroine and her honest relationship with Curran while being in a paranormal world is wonderful.

Ok so if you haven’t read the previous 4 books you probably shouldn’t read this review because no matter what I do there will be spoilers from the previous books!! So go back and read the first four then come back to my blog and see if we agree.

 

In this book Kate has opened her own investigation agency called Cutting Edge.  (love the name!) She is getting no business what so ever and doesn’t want to be a burden on the pack.  Her agency is loaned from the pack right now she wants to actually make some money instead of just taking it even though she is the alpha’s mate.  (see spoiler!! sorry not sorry I warned you!) Her friend Andrea who disappeared at the end of last book is back! yay!! On top of this Julie runs away from school again… oh Julie.  I adore Julie’s character but sometimes I get annoyed with her too.  Which is fine because she’s a teenager and we were all annoying, know it alls at that age. Then a blast from the past walks in and asks for help in finding someone who may or may not be creating a device that some awful people want.  I won’t tell you what they want it for but you know she is Kate Daniels she’s gonna get is some pretty ferocious altercations. Will she be able to save who needs saved in time????

In this book there were the usual set of characters.  Derek is there he is by far maybe my favorite character after Kate. I mean I honestly just adore when he is in the scene.  I actually like him better than Curran. (I can hear the gasps around the world) I know, I know Curran is awesome but come on! I’m team Derek all the way 😉 Curran is obviously in this book and as I said before his relationship with Kate is so real.  I know he’s a tiger and she’s a witch/etc.  I love how supportive they are of each other even if they don’t agree.  Just like a real relationship…  The bit with Saiman and the cars was priceless!! When you get there and hear the theme music in your head you will get it!! Ok Andrea who disappeared because if you ask me she chose the wrong side.  Her relationship with Kate is great I love how as BFF’s they kind of have it out and then are fine with each other.  Now only if Andrea can get her crap together with Rafael. New character whom I may like/hate at the same time is Baba Yaga.  I cannot believe they added Baba Yaga into this series I mean she eats children!! Ok no wait I can see why she is in this series now…

Honestly I love this series and I will continue to read it.  The reason I only gave this one 4 stars was for the epilogue.  I know not fair but I feel the ending was rushed including the epilogue. I just needed a little bit more…

book blurb and stuff…

Mass Market Paperback, 308 pages
Published June 2011 by Ace Penguin Berkley (first published April 25th 2011)
Original Title Magic Slays
ISBN 0441020429 (ISBN13: 9780441020423)
Kate Daniels may have quit the Order of Merciful Aid, but she’s still knee-deep in paranormal problems. Or she would be if she could get someone to hire her. Starting her own business has been more challenging than she thought it would be now that the Order is disparaging her good name, and many potential clients are afraid of getting on the bad side of the Beast Lord, who just happens to be Kate’s mate.

So when Atlanta’s premier Master of the Dead calls to ask for help with a vampire on the loose, Kate leaps at the chance of some paying work. Turns out this is not an isolated incident, and Kate needs to get to the bottom of it fast, or the city and everyone dear to her might pay the ultimate price

 

Leave a Reply

