Unravel Me (Shatter Me#2) by Tahereh Mafi

3.5 slowly getting better stars!

 

wp-1453808850835.jpg

Okay so I wasn’t going to continue with this series…but I have been informed that it gets better with each book.  Book 2 proved to be interesting but not as good as I thought it would be.  I have some serious dislikes in these books.. I think I will start with my likes.

James the younger brother of Adam is an adorable character.  The writing style is unique and fluid.  The premise behind the book is pretty cool. I liked Kenji better in the first book but this book he was iffy for me.  The thought that went into what was written in Juliette’s notebook was great.  I loved seeing the insight into her brain.. seeing what made her tick.  The covers of the books are gorgeous!!

I still have yet to find a character that I adore, that makes me want to root for them. Juliette’s character more often than not makes me want to throw the book across the room. At the very end she seemed to take a bit of a turn in a good way.  I really enjoy strong female characters and so far she hasn’t been one at all. I realize she is a broken character but I feel like maybe she could’ve found herself before the end of book 2?  Her love interest Adam is uhm how to say it politely… very needy.  Oh and the love triangle.  It’s not very often an author can pull off a love triangle and I won’t hate it.  I don’t think I understand the other half of the love triangle at all… I feel he is just a bit crazy like Juliette.

Next comes the novella which is both of the love interest’s thoughts.  So I’m interested to read that and see if it changes my perspective.  So far this hasn’t been my favorite series but it’s also not the worst series I have ever read.  If you look on good reads I am one of the few that aren’t wholeheartedly into this series.

book blurb and such..

Hardcover, 461 pages
Published February 5th 2013 by HarperCollins
Original Title
Unravel Me (Shatter Me, #2)
ISBN 0062085530 (ISBN13: 9780062085535)
tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

Leave a Reply

