Golden Son (Red Rising #2), by Pierce Brown

5 Omnis Vir Lupus Stars!!

Golden son

I can’t even put into words how awesome this second book was.  You know how when you start a trilogy and you love the first book but the second book is normally blah and filler information for the third?? This book is not that type of second book.  Holy cow It’s going to be so hard to write this review without spoilers!!

I would love to give a standing ovation to hottiMCauthor.. er I mean Pierce Brown.  Well done, well done!!! This book had so many plot twists, I literally wanted to call off work and send my children to the grandparents just so I could read it straight through.  Alas I had to adult my way through reading it..

Ok onto the book, so Darrow is back in Golden Son obviously.  He is trying to live Eo’s dream.  The dream that everyone can be free… that everyone can carve out their own life’s path.  All of the old gang is back in this book… although I’m not gonna lie the guy I was waiting for most took the longest to show up.  I couldn’t wait to see Sevro again.  Sometimes I think I like him better than Darrow (shh don’t tell Pierce I said that). All of the character’s heartbreak was my heartbreak.. all of their triumphs were my triumphs.  Darrow is just kind of floating in the beginning he can’t get a hold of Ares or Dancer to find out what the next step is.  He is under attack by the Bellona family and it seems his backing by Mustang’s father is faltering.  Darrow seems to find ally’s in this book that should be enemies.   Once you get a hold of something in this book and think it is going one way this happens.

Plot twist

Once you get through that plot twist then there is another and another… The writing style in this book is so unbelievably fluid.  The way the characters talk to one another is amazing!! There is Latin but always a translation right behind it.  They do have their own language in a way but it’s so easy to catch on to! These books were just so well thought out I can’t even explain. If you haven’t read them yet.. go back and read Red Rising first because you cannot read out of order you will be so unbelievably confused.  Go and read this I highly recommend!! You will have one of these after each book!!!Thank god the final book comes out Tuesday!!

book hangover

Omnis Vir Lupus!! Everyone a Wolf!! I would love to be a Howler!!!  (okay, okay I’m done fangirling!!)

book blurb and such…

ebook, 464 pages
Published January 6th 2015 by Del Rey (Random House)
Original Title Golden Son
ISBN0345539826 (ISBN13: 9780345539823)
With shades of The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game, and Game of Thrones, debut author Pierce Brown’s genre-defying epic Red Rising hit the ground running and wasted no time becoming a sensation.

Golden Son continues the stunning saga of Darrow, a rebel forged by tragedy, battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom from the overlords of a brutal elitist future built on lies. Now fully embedded among the Gold ruling class, Darrow continues his work to bring down Society from within.

A life-or-death tale of vengeance with an unforgettable hero at its heart, Golden Son guarantees Pierce Brown’s continuing status as one of fiction’s most exciting new voices

 

Leave a Reply

