Ignite Me (Shatter Me #3)by, Tahereh Mafi

3.5 well that was interesting stars!!

wp-1456362707771.jpg

Okay so I haven’t been the biggest advocate of this series.  I want to say first off that tons and I mean tons of people fangirl over this series.  I just don’t think it was enough for me.  I felt my emotional connection to the characters was thin.  However there is one side character that was definitely my favorite in the first and third books.  Everyone is kind of an idiot in the second book including him. In this book the characters finally seem to be coming into their own. Some for the better and some are worse.  There are some obvious plot twists to get this book in the direction it needs to go.

Juliette the main character seems to be finally coming into her own which is nice.  Her coming into her own was what made me like this book a little more.  She was finally starting to stand up for herself and make it known that she was not to be messed with.  Her love interests are of course still fighting… I can’t say much more than that because spoilers and all that jazz.  I will say reading the novella’s did definitely help with what was going on in everyone’s head.  I suggest reading the novella after the 2nd book or you will get spoiled.  The whole story was ramping up and I was really starting to enjoy it then the ending happened.  I’m not even sure what to say about that ending except it was a super let down for me.   I needed more… I needed to know more.  It felt a little rushed like wham… bam and it’s all done.

Like I said I probably wouldn’t have finished this series unless my sister in law had pushed it some more saying but it’s worth it.  While I enjoyed it, it definitely was not my favorite series.  Go and judge for yourself see what you think and let me know.

book blurb

Kindle Edition, 421 pages
Published February 4th 2014 by HarperCollins
Original Title
Ignite Me (Shatter Me, #3)
ASINB00DB2YN0C

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end.

 

Leave a Reply

