City of Stairs (The Divine Cities #1), by Robert Jackson Bennett

3 a little slow for me stars!

City of Stairs

Ok I’m going to start of this review with a disclaimer.  I have been super sick lately, so that may have affected how I felt about this book. (cold pills and all)  I debated really hard on what to rate this book. It has such high ratings to begin with I was for sure I would instantly fall in love with it. However the first 50% or so of this book was slow I would think it was picking up then it would drag onto a big history/information dump. I understand why the information was needed I’m just wondering if it could’ve been delivered a different way? I felt lost at times through the information dumps that were given as history lessons in separate text it was hard to concentrate on what it was trying to say. The information when given through a character was easier to follow. Such and such god does this… etc…

I found the characters very likable in this book. I found a real connection to Sigrud he didn’t talk much especially in the beginning but the way he is described and his entire being really stuck to me. He is the “secretary” to Shara. She is being sent to the continent to Bulikov to investigate the death of a historian. This historian was also her friend… it takes a little while for things to get super weird. However you learn very early that Sigurd and Shara think and act differently than most. It’s almost like Shara has a photographic memory. She can pull crazy amounts of information out of nowhere. Sigurd is very logical and doesn’t input unless needed.

There are many more characters in this book that are very likable and memorable. I enjoyed everyone’s point of view and how the conversations flowed between the characters. Once they realized they were on the same side it seemed easier for them to converse and get to know one another.

The world building when not in the historical documents/letter information dump area was great. I loved how clearly a picture was painted of these different worlds and sectors. The Divinities items were so well written I had no problem imaging what they looked like.

Like I said I was torn on which way to go toward the end it really started building steam and then when it is was over I was like that wasn’t so bad. However I almost gave up in the beginning…I did receive the second book for review so that should be coming this month!!

book blurb…

Paperback, 452 pages
Published September 9th 2014 by Broadway Books (first published January 1st 2014)
Original Title City of Stairs
ISBN 080413717X (ISBN13: 9780804137171)
Years ago, the city of Bulikov wielded the powers of the Gods to conquer the world. But after its divine protectors were mysteriously killed, the conqueror has become the conquered; the city’s proud history has been erased and censored, progress has left it behind, and it is just another colonial outpost of the world’s new geopolitical power. Into this musty, backward city steps Shara Thivani. Officially, the quiet woman is just another lowly diplomat sent by Bulikov’s oppressors. Unofficially, Shara is one of her country’s most accomplished spymasters — dispatched to investigate the brutal murder of a seemingly harmless historian. As Shara pursues the mystery through the ever-shifting physical and political geography of the city, she begins to suspect that the beings who once protected Bulikov may not be as dead as they seem — and that her own abilities might be touched by the divine as well.

One thought on “City of Stairs (The Divine Cities #1), by Robert Jackson Bennett

Leave a Reply

