Lady Midnight (Dark Artifices #1), by Cassandra Clare

5 I’m so happy the Shadowhunter’s are back stars!!

wp-1458427932392.jpg

I can’t even explain how happy I was to get this book.  So far the Infernal Devices series is still my favorite.  However this may have a chance to top that one. I’m not even sure where to start on this review… How gorgeous is this cover?!?!

I’m so happy to catch up with Julian and Emma.  I was so worried about them after the Mortal Instruments. I feel so bad for Julian he just wants to keep everyone safe.  He had to become a “dad” so young he didn’t get to have a childhood. Not that any shadowhunter childhood is normal.  He had to take care of his younger brothers and sisters after his parent’s were killed and his older siblings taken away.  I’m trying not to do any spoilers…However if you read the previous books you know exactly what I am talking about! He has the whole weight of the world on his shoulders.  He has to make sure everyone including his best friend Emma is taken care of and doesn’t get hurt or run off with out thinking.

Emma feels like she has to take on the world.  She’s more of an action first kind and consequences later of girl. I love her little sarcastic attitude it reminded me of Jace a little bit.  Also she is the first main female character that didn’t start of helpless, she is a strong woman.   She has been hunting down the person who killed her parents.  Are you sensing a theme in the shadowhunter world?? yes parent’s seem to die… sucks.. Emma bonded herself to Julian so that she wouldn’t have to leave his family which is basically her family.  While I feel like she basically co-parents the children with Julian he still bares more of the weight. However you do see throughout the book how she tries to be there for each child.

The characters in this book that Cassandra Clare has introduced us to are amazing.  I’m so excited to get more in depth with the Blackthorn family and with the Carstairs family.  There were so many times I wanted to scream at this book no!! The depth of feeling brought on by this book had me super excited.  I have said before that I love the Infernal Devices and I feel like this series could be just like that one. The family dynamic is back in this series that I so missed in the last series.  The plot twists in this book were great! Some of them I didn’t see coming and some I did… I feel like the only pet peeve I have with this whole book is the fact that they treat Tavvy like he is 3 instead of 7.  I realize he has been through a lot but he wouldn’t just play with blocks while someone talked about war. He would be interested in what was going on, maybe a little bored but definitely not just hanging out underneath the table playing blocks.

There are so many previous book character appearances I almost squeed with delight every time one was mentioned. Also if you bought the book there is a short story about the characters from the Mortal Instruments in the back.  I’m not sure how Cassandra Clare maps out all of these books so they all intertwine within their timelines but bravo!

I would highly suggest this series however I would read them in this order.. The Infernal Devices, The Mortal Instruments, Shadowhunter Academy, and then start the Dark Artifices…

Book Blurb..
Hardcover, 720 pages
Published March 8th 2016 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Original Title
Lady Midnight ISBN1442468351 (ISBN13: 9781442468351)
It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

One thought on “Lady Midnight (Dark Artifices #1), by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

