The Book Courtship Tag

I have seen this tag going around booktube.  Now I see it going around the blogging circle.  I love seeing what people come up with during book tags so I thought I would join in this time.

Question 1- Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover.

Charmed

Honestly don’t you think a lot of us have done this a thousand times over so I really had to stare hard at my bookshelf to come up with this one.

I’m going to go with Reluctantly Charmed.  This is actually on my TBR shelf so I don’t know a lot about it yet. A young lady is asked to re-write poems under her name and strange things start to occur after these poems are published.  Should she continue down this journey or not?

It looks really good I should pick it up soon but honestly my TBR is intimidating and it depends on what I’m in the mood for…

Question 2-First Impressions: A book you got because of the summary.

Vinegar

Again this is really hard for me I usually read the summary and pick it up instantly or it goes back..

I was super intrigued after reading the summary off Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler.  This book is a re-make on Taming of the Shrew by William Shakespeare.   The book did not disappoint I really enjoyed it. Seeing this dysfunctional family actually function on a daily basis.  Wondering if she was going to go through with her father’s plans for her or not.

I would definitely suggest this to everyone!

 

Question 3-Sweet Talk: A book with great writing..

Simply

Not gonna lie it could be any book written by this author.  She is my go to author so much that my daughter who is 7 knows who she is…

I  am going to put one of my favorite books of her’s in here for the picture.  I highly recommend anything written by Jill Shalvis.  Her characters are so relate-able, they have normal people problems and are amazing.  I love how her characters will drop a kindle on their face, or have an addiction to popcorn, or run into a hot guy while having on sweats and ugg boots. You getting a theme here? You don’t only fall in love with the main characters you fall in love with the town and all the people in it. Highly, highly recommend!!

Question 4-First Date: The first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series.

wp-1455992271647.jpg

This answer was unbelievably easy for me. If you have followed my blog in any way shape or form you know I am obsessed with this series.  I tell anyone and everyone to read this series.  The Red Rising Trilogy by Pierce Brown.  I am obsessed there is so much in these stories that I can’t even explain it.  You never know what is going to happen just when you think you have something nailed down you don’t.  Fantastic writing, fantastic plot, and fantastic characters!! go read it now!!

Question 5-Late Night Phone Call: A book series that kept you up all night.

The Final Empire

This book took me a while to get to.  I don’t know why I waited so long… Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson.  This book is so good, I actually read the second book all ready.  I always put off reading the last in a series as long as I can because I hate to loose those characters.  However from what I understand these books continue on in spin offs?  Maybe the characters come back?  These books have a wonderful strong female lead character and an awesome magic system.

I would definitely also recommend this series.

Question 6- Always on My Mind: A book you could not stop thinking about.

If You Only Knew Her

I had one book pop instantly into my mind when this question happened.  If You Only Knew by Kristan Higgins.  I know she is well known for her romance novels.  Let me tell you this book is not one of those.  This book broke me into a thousand little pieces then put me back together… then broke me apart again.

The characters in this book have such turmoil with so many good little moments in between.  It was perfection…. Book Hangover like none other!

 

Question 7- Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels.

Shadow hunter codex

Okay so you can’t tell in this picture but the dust jacket on this book has raised writing.  While that isn’t so spectacular when you take the dust jacket off the physical book is so soft and so pretty. I suggest if you go to your local bookstore pick this book up and take the dust jacket off and feel the book underneath!

 

 

Question 8- Meeting the Parents: The book you would recommend to your friends and family.

wp-1453933244006.jpg

This is probably the hardest one for me because most of my family and friends don’t read but if I think hard about it one book they may all like is Illuminae  by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.  This book doesn’t read like a tradition novel.  It is told in emails and codes and recordings.  The book itself is of course gorgeous. As much as the book is gorgeous the story was captivating and never let me down.

Also if you were going to audio book one book this whole year pick this one!

 

Question 9-Thinking about the Future: A book or series you know you will re-read many times in the future.

Montana

 

This one was also easy for me as I re-read this book at least once a year. Montana Sky by Nora Roberts.  This book follows three estranged sisters brought together by their father’s death.  There is mystery and romance in this book. So many things that make Nora Roberts who she is as a writer.  She is one of the queens of romance/mystery/suspense to me.  I have met her a couple times too and she is so kind and sweet.  Almost like she isn’t the rock star of the book world.

 

Question 10- Share the love who do you tag?? 

EVERYONE!! This was fun going through my shelves and reminding myself of all the great reads I have gone through…and what is to come!

 

 

Leave a Reply

