A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas

5 what a cool fairy tale retelling stars!!

court

This was sooo good.. While this is a fairy tale retelling of Beauty and The Beast there are so many differences you don’t exactly expect what happens.  The main female character is Feyre she is just a young lady trying to help her family survive.  Feyre is the main provider for her family.  Her father has lost his wealth and they rely on her to bring in food and money for the whole family.  I have to say her family dynamic was crazy.  The youngest sister taking care of the older sisters and family.  While she is out hunting one day she kills a wolf (or was it a wolf?).  Later that day everything changes when a fairy comes in demanding payment for the treaty she broke.  He demands her life for his friends life she can either die now or live with him in fairy land forever.  I loved Feyre’s character she is so strong for her family yet vulnerable.  I enjoy stronger female characters and she seems to be fitting the bill.

When Feyre leaves with the beast she doesn’t realize she’s actually with an important fairy.  When she wakes up in Prythian (land of fairy)the beast has turned back into a man, a man with a mask.  Tamlin is nothing but sweet and nice to Feyre but of course it takes ages to break through her tough exterior  She has been told that fairies lie, cheat, kill.. etc. This spring court that Tamlin is part of sounds gorgeous… everything in spring beauty all the time.  I really enjoyed Tamlin as a character he seems so well put together he’s strong, reliable and only trying to do what’s best for Feyre and the people. There is a blight across all of Prythian he is trying to cure and that is why his spring court is forever stuck in masquerade masks. Feyre tries to help him figure out how to stop the blight but she realizes to late that she is what could stop the blight.

Lucian and Feyre’s relationship was so strained at first because she had killed a beloved friend.  However I love that when he is snarky with her she just stands up to him, which he I think he may actually enjoy. Lucian will back Tamlin 100% even when he doesn’t agree with the things he does….

Rhysand’s character however is exactly the kind of character I gravitate towards. He is such a smart ass but underneath it all is really doing good.  I was unsure at first because he helps Feyre then he hurts her… then he helps her.  Then of course she makes a deal with him that will affect her forever.  I loved their chemistry it’s almost a like/hate relationship.  I’m not sure it will be a love triangle but if it is I might root for Rhys. Sorry Tamlin!!

This book was really good I highly recommend it to everyone!!

Goodreads link here

book blurb..

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury Children’s
Original Title
A Court of Thorns and Roses
ISBN1619634449 (ISBN13: 9781619634442)

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beastwith faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

One thought on “A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s