A Court of Mist and Fury, by Sarah J. Maas

5 no second book slump stars!!

ACOMAF

WOW… I can’t even begin to explain.  I will start off by saying that this review will contain spoilers so if you haven’t read this book or the first book do not read my review.  I will not be able to keep spoilers out of this review.  Just because so much dang stuff happens in this book!!

This book starts out after Feyre has defeated the evil Amarantha.  She is now living in Tamlin’s court and has accepted his offer of marriage.  Both Tamlin and Feyre have been broken by this last battle. Feyre was physically and now mentally broken.  I have to say while I enjoyed Tamlin in the first book, I loathed him in this book.  He was so unbelievably possessive of Feyre telling her what she could do and when she could do it. Yes I get that it was him being super protective of what was his but geez.  He went above and beyond protective.  Then on their wedding day Feyre freezes and starts praying for someone to come and rescue her.  Who should come to her rescue….Rhys.  I’m pretty sure I sighed out loud when he came onto the page.  I adored Rhys in the first book you can just tell there was more than meets the eye with that man.She goes back with Rhys for his obligatory week.  After the week Feyre is stronger and standing on her own two feet. However a short time back with Tamlin and that all changes.  She asks to go with him she is tired of being locked up. Tamlin then locks her in his house! Which makes Feyre go mad and Mo comes after her for Rhys….

Feyre refuses to go back with Tamlin and wants to stay in Rhys’s court.Once she is in Rhys’s court for good things start to change.  She gets stronger and seems to finally come into her own. Feyre’s character growth is awesome.  I know a lot of people don’t like that she switches sides but she is there for months before she decides to switch sides completely and its months until anything remotely romantic happens between her and Rhys.  Feyre’s character has changed because of what happens in book one and Tamlin can’t see that. I love that we get so much more from Rhys’s character in this book.  You get to see what makes him tick and how he never makes Feyre do anything she doesn’t want to do.  He may push her but if she said no he would respect that.  He lets her develop and come into her newfound powers.

There is so much more to this book than romantic entanglements. They are trying to figure out how to stop a war.  Everyone in Rhys’s family plays a part, there is no man/woman left behind. I loved that he’s an equally opportunity ruler.  The thought Sarah J. Maas put into the political entanglements and magic that Feyre has is awesome.  The water wolves were the best part I think…. all though there were a lot of favorite parts for me.

Here’s a little peek

“I am no one’s pet,” I said. Rhys’s face was contemplative, and I wondered if he remembered that he’d told me the same thing once,when I was too lost in my own guilt and despair to understand. “What’s next?”

“For what it’s worth, I did actually want to give you a day to rest-”

“Don’t coddle me.”

Goodreads link here.

book blurb…

Kindle Edition, 640 pages
Published May 3rd 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Original Title A Court of Mist and Fury
ASIN B015FELXQ0

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Leave a Reply

