Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

5 what did I just read stars!

dark matter

 

I was so afraid that this book would not live up to the hype currently circulating around it.  Holy cow it was so good! I’m not even sure of what I just read… except it grabbed me and pulled me in from the beginning.  How am I to explain this book without giving anything away…

Okay so Jason is happy in his ordinary life, until the moment comes when he is hit over the head by a masked man and wakes up somewhere he recognizes no one but everyone knows who he is. Intrigued yet? You will be… Jason is a college professor with a normal life, he has a wife and a son.  Everything seems hunky dory.  Until he wakes up in this strange place and everyone is asking where he has been what he has seen.

Blake Crouch did such a wonderful job telling this story without it seeming repetitive.   I think it had something to do with his writing style. The chapters were relatively short and the  paragraphs weren’t long.  He had a way of telling you everything you needed to know without dragging it out.  It was like short bursts of information that had your heart pumping when Jason’s was and contemplating a lot about life.  If this book doesn’t have you thinking about life when you finish it, then I think you read it wrong.  The thought that one different choice could’ve lead you somewhere else is such a big thing.  I might not have my house, my car, or family.

This is one of those books you can’t pinpoint when you fall into the void of never putting the book down.  I loved the book completely, it was something I needed to read that I didn’t know I wanted to read.

Thank you Crown Publishing and Blogging for Books for this review copy for my honest review.

goodreads link here

book blurb..

Hardcover, 342 pages
Published July 26th 2016 by Crown
Original Title Dark Matter
ISBN 1101904224 (ISBN13: 9781101904220)

“Are you happy with your life?” Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious. Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits. Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable–something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

Leave a Reply

