I’m Still Here by Clelie Avit Translated by Lucy Foster

5 unique romance stars!!

I'm still here

The first line hooked me on this book right away there was no turning back after I read this.

“I’m cold. I’m hungry. I’m frightened.”

“Or at least, I think I am”

This is such a simple yet profound book. I was afraid since it was to be a translated book that a lot would be lost in translation.  However it hasn’t lost anything, I loved every minute of this book.  I’m Still Here is a book about Elsa who has just turned 30, except she can’t move, she is in a coma.  In the last couple weeks she has regained her hearing and nothing else.  Elsa’s daily life is surrounded by the people who visit her, nurses, doctors, and the cleaning lady.  Elsa inner monologues the things she hears.  Since she can only hear the voices or noises that normal people would brush off become vibrant colors in her mind.  Then one day amidst her hearing things she hears someone new come into her room.  His name is Thibault, (I have to admit I can’t pronounces his name so I called him Ty) he accidentally enters her room while looking for a private place in the hospital to sort out his thoughts.

Thibault was such a complex character, he’s struggling with the decisions and consequences his brother has made that affect him.  He seems to be trying to please everyone he knows while having some sort of social anxiety disorder.  The only constant in his life is his best friend Julien.  I adored his best friend throughout this book, he is exactly how best friends should be.  When Thibault happens into Elsa’s room he reads her chart and realizes that she is in a coma.  Thibault then does  something I would never be brave enough to do, he sits down and has a conversation with Elsa.  Some things he does would be weird if it actually happened but I also don’t think it’s to weird since we have Elsa’s commentary to go along with it.  After a while he realizes that Elsa reacts to him being there, but will it be enough to wake her up?

I was so scared going into this because of the translation difference, but was so surprised.  This book is very thought provoking, about what Elsa is going through along with what Thibault is going through.  How coincidence has made them cross paths, but their situations have kept them together.  Underneath it all this is a wonderful romance. The writing style is so simple it was a nice quick read. It’s almost like a Rainbow Rowell book to me as it just ends and I could’ve kept reading.  This author just keeps you wanting more and more.  I hope she gets more translated to English as she writes, she is amazing.

Thank you to Grand Central  Publishing and Clelie Avit for sending me a copy of this book in lie of my honest opinion.

Goodreads link here.

A modern take on Sleeping Beauty, for fans of Jojo Moyes.

Elsa is spending her thirtieth birthday in the hospital bed where she’s lain for months after a devastating mountain accident. Unable to speak, see, or move, she appears to be in an irreversible coma, but her friends and family don’t know that she’s regained the power of hearing.

That day, a stranger named Thibault enters the hospital to visit his brother, who’s just been injured in an accident that killed two young girls. He instead seeks refuge in the room where Elsa lies, and quickly becomes intrigued by the young woman, returning day after day to sit beside her, convinced that his words are being heard.

As their connection grows, the doctors deliver a devastating blow to her family. Is it possible that Thibault knows something no one else does, and can he reach her before it’s too late?

Leave a Reply

