Winner Takes All by Erin Kern

2 no connection stars…

winner

 

I really wanted to like this one, it’s a shame that there was no connection to either character for me.  However it currently has a 3.81 rating on Goodreads which is pretty darn good.  So many other people have definitely been able to connect with these characters.

 

The Beehive Mafia was probably one of my favorite parts I actually would’ve liked to of seen more of them. They were so corky and fun, I wished they would’ve been in almost every chapter.  The fact that they take pics of the guys for Tumblr was hilarious.  I love meddling, outspoken, crazy little old ladies.  The dogs were a big plus for this book, I really enjoy any book with animals in it.  Again I think the dogs could’ve been included a lot more.  Sometimes it mentioned that they were taking said dog somewhere but then the dog isn’t where they are?  Also I felt they were just kind of thrown in here or there for filler. Sorry, crap that was negative… the dogs personalities were really great and I enjoyed them.

Okay so for the main characters I really enjoyed Annabelle’s positive outlook on life.  She does what needs done with no questions asked.  She takes care of her mom, runs her own office, and helps the football team.  While I think Annabelle was a good overall character she lacked some depth for me. Her not trusting herself for falling for the wrong man was a little overdone.  Annabelle could’ve become stronger after as a character but actually became more self-focused on everything being her way or the highway.  While I do believe she was a good character I just could not connect, I thought her angst was a little drawn out and childish.

Blake was a tough guy to like..he comes off as quite the jerk.  While I know some men in romance novels do come off as jerks in the beginning and then redeem themselves. Blake failed to redeem himself for me.  Of course he’s going through some super crappy times but he in no way redeemed himself throughout the book.  What about the kid he was helping Cody?? He was so concerned about him throughout 3/4 of the book then all of the sudden he’s no longer important to the plot… or Blake. Then in the end he failed to redeem himself he doubts that Annabelle is telling him the truth about her mother just to avoid him… I mean super selfish… I duno he just was not my kind of hero.

Goodreads link here

bookblurb..

Mass Market Paperback, 384 pages
Published August 30th 2016 by Forever
ISBN 1455535982 (ISBN13: 9781455535989)

THE LOVE OF THE GAME

Money. Fame. Endorsements. Blake Carpenter had it all—before his professional football career spiraled out of control. Determined to rebuild his life, he takes on coaching the high school team in his Colorado hometown. Despite a few fumbles, Blake knows he can lead these boys to victory. As long as he can keep his eyes on the prize and off the team’s distractingly gorgeous physical therapist.

Annabelle Turner knows all about the scandal that cost Blake his NFL career, and she’ll be damned if she’s going to let hismistakes hurt her team. What she doesn’t count on is the intense attraction that turns every heated run-in they have into a wildly erotic competition. Point by point, play by play, kiss by kiss, they try to keep things professional for the good of the team. But when the score is this close—and the passion this fierce—it’s anybody’s game…

Leave a Reply

