August 2016 Wrap Up

August Wrap Up…

YAY I finally conquered my slow reading slump.  I can’t guarantee it won’t be back this month but I was busting butt for ARC August.  7 out of 10 of the books I read were ARC’s so go me 😀 It was a wide range of stars for the month between 2 and 5 stars.  So on to the wrap up!

Wanting it All by Christi Barth –  I gave this book 3 stars it was a nice read but I couldn’t connect to the main female character.  She was just too naïve for me to like.  While I love the concept of these books which are geared around the gentleman and their manly bond, neither this book or the 1st book have hit the mark exactly for me

wanting

Meant to be Mine by Lisa Marie Perry – This book was another 3 star read for me.  While I overall enjoyed this book it was a bit long for an HEA.  The angst was a little drawn out.  I may read the rest of the series though because I am kind of invested into the side characters

meant

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch – A definite 5 star rating!!  This book is mind boggling crazy.  I feel it’s best if you go into this novel knowing little to nothing about it. I will tell you, it involves, science, a family, different worlds, and stuff.  It was so good! Definitely not over-hyped!!

dark matter

Mort by Terry Pratchett  – 5 stars! Honestly I should listen to my brother when he recommends books they are usually a 5 star read for me.  This book was so unique I loved the universe that it had created and Mort was such a likable character.

Mort

Her Darkest Nightmare by Brenda Novak – 5 stars!! I honestly couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book after reading the novella before it called Hanover House.  It was soo good, this book series follows a psychiatrist while she works with psychopaths and sees what makes them tick.  It’s more of a mystery/suspense than a romance but there is some romantic parts.

darkest

I’m Still Here by Clelie Avit – another 5 star read! This book was not what I was expecting in a good way. It’s a love story with the twist as one of the main characters is in a coma and can only hear everyone else. This was done so well, I wanted more when it ended.

I'm still here

For Better or Worse by Lauren Layne –  5 stars hands down! So good it was such a good HEA, the cover alone is worth 5 stars. The characters we frenemies and the bickering was exactly how it should be… the angst was perfect.. it was just amazing.

for better or worse

Run to You by Rachel Lacey – 4 stars! This book was a great set up for a new series. I really enjoyed both main characters; they each had their own flaws but together were pretty special.  I will say this is a used trope the fake dating to keep someone happy, however the way Rachel Lacey did it made the whole thing feel fresh and new.

Run to you

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes – I gave this one 4 stars however now that I’m a couple chapters into the second book I am tempted to bump it down to 3 stars. Both books have been very tropey and insta lovey… and I’m not sure if I’m going to keep reading the second one.

falling kingdoms

Winner Takes All by Erin Kern – I gave this book 2 stars, I’m not sure why but usually if it’s less than 2 I won’t even write a review.  While it has fantastic ratings on goodreads this book was definitely not my cup of tea.  I could not connect with either of the main characters.

winner

Leave a Reply

