The Book of Ivy, by Amy Engel

5 a great dystopian book!

ivy

 

This little book packed such a big punch I enjoyed it immensely.  It’s less than 300 pages and I must’ve cried at least 3 times while reading it. This book proves you don’t need a bad boy who’s really good underneath to be a hero.  It also proves that you don’t need a main female character that can do everything on her own without help from her significant other.

I’m getting ahead of myself… but I really enjoyed this book. I actually waited a little over a day to wrap my head around everything I liked about it and I only have one tiny pet peeve near the end so I would say that’s pretty good!

Ivy’s character is definitely stronger underneath than you first expect.  It’s obvious just from the synopsis on the back of the book that Ivy is being married off to her father’s arch nemesis son Bishop.  Ivy is meant to kill Bishop to start a spiral of things happening.  Ivy’s family feels that it should rightfully be in charge of the town, and Bishop’s dad is currently in charge. This book kind of felt like a Hatfield and McCoy situation.  I really enjoyed how both characters grew throughout the book to be more independent..  They started relying on their own thoughts and feelings instead of what was ingrained in them to believe. I loved the fact that Bishop was not the bad boy turned good.  He was a good guy from the beginning he never forced Ivy into anything.  He was unbelievably patient and kind with her.  My heart melted for Bishop he is the guy I hope my daughter will date someday.

This is not your typical dystopian YA story.  There is a lot of plotting and little action.  The fact that the ending happened the way it did was kind of a letdown but I understand it sets up for the second book. I really, really enjoyed these characters if I haven’t gotten that point across yet.  They were average teenagers thrown into a crappy situation but making the best of it.  I will not be able to wait long to read the second book and I love that it is only a duology. !

goodreads link here

bookblurb..

Paperback, 282 pages
Published November 4th 2014 by Entangled: Teen
ISBN 1622664655 (ISBN13: 9781622664658)
After a brutal nuclear war, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over which family would govern the new nation. The Westfalls lost. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual.

This year, it is my turn.

My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill the president’s son—my soon-to-be husband—and restore the Westfall family to power.

But Bishop Lattimer is either a very skilled actor or he’s not the cruel, heartless boy my family warned me to expect. He might even be the one person in this world who truly understands me. But there is no escape from my fate. I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy.

Because Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him…

Leave a Reply

