Rebel Spring, by Morgan Rhodes

4 starting to get a little complex stars!

rebel

 

Honest to pete… this series and how Morgan likes to just kill people off may push me over the edge.  I’m so afraid to feel anything for anyone of these characters because the minute I like someone they die! I doubt I will be able to do this review spoiler free so if you plan on reading this series or perhaps have read book one but not book two then don’t read my review after it says spoiler!

This book is a continuation of book one where everyone seems to hate the King of Blood but no one is closer to killing him. (honestly can we just kill this guy already?) Cleo is still trapped inside what should be rightfully her castle.  Magnus is still reeling from the fact that his sister is a sorcerer (not a spoiler) and he still has feelings for her. (hate that trope)Jonas who was my favorite character in book 1 has turned into a meh character for me in book 2.  Lucia…. Still don’t like her… don’t know what to do about that.

SPOILER SECTION BELOW…

Okay first off the fact that Cleo has to marry Magnus which was expected and annoying.  I wish that would’ve been done a little differently but I see why it was done.  Cleo is still not evolving enough for me. I mean the wedding day seemed to be her eye opener that she needs to do more to stop the king of blood.  In this book she tries to find out more information about the kindred and the ring that was given to her.

Magnus is still not my favorite character I’m not exactly sure how he is everyone’s favorite because he is def. not my favorite. He is still hung up on his sister which I really absolutely loathe that trope.  I like seeing that he is developing feelings for other people besides her, but still ew. He doesn’t seem like a good character he threatens everyone but doesn’t let anyone see the real him.  I’m happy that he lets Cleo in on a few small real truths about himself.

Lucia is still to spoiled for me… I can’t handle the great sorceress acting like she’s a 2 year old throwing tantrums. I realize she can’t contain this evil part of her but show it differently than her not getting her way …

Jonas is still one of my favorite characters, sometimes he can be to headstrong for his own good and it kills me.  He thinks he is ALWAYS right and come on it takes a team not one man. The fact that they kill off his best friend killed me… I was so PISSED.  I understand why it happened because of course Jonas is supposed to fall for Lys and he can’t do that with Brian in the way.

I’m going to add Nick into the equation while he is just a supporting character and not a main one he is my favorite by far.  He is consistent in his protection and love for Cleo.  He is consistent in the character that he is.  He doesn’t waver back and forth he is who he is… and I love him for it.  I swear to goodness Morgan Rhoades if you kill him off in the next book I’m going to be pissed.

The tropes in these books are still killing me.. brother in love with his sister who’s not really his sister check, Princess falling for the rebel check, princess falling for the bad guy check, Rebels live in the trees like robin hood check… Are you noticing a trope theme me too. However even with all the eye rolling tropes I still love this series.  It’s very complex inter mingling of all the characters and how it rotates back to one thing is great!

Goodreads link here

bookblurb..

Hardcover, 401 pages
Published December 3rd 2013 by Razorbill (first published November 27th 2013)
Original Title
Rebel Spring
ISBN1595145931 (ISBN13: 9781595145932)

Cleo is now a prisoner in her own palace, forced to be an ambassador for Mytica as the evil King Gaius lies to her people.
Magnus stands to eventually inherit the new kingdom but is still obsessed with his feelings for his adopted sister, Lucia.
Lucia is haunted by the outcome of the breathtaking display of magic that allowed her father to capture the kingdoms.
Jonas watched at the palace gates a troop of rebels behind him, waiting for him to tell them how he plans to overtake King Gaius.

After a bloody siege, Auranos has been defeated, its young queen orphaned and dethroned. The three kingdoms—Auranos, Limeros, and Paelsia—are now unwillingly united as one country called Mytica. But the allure of ancient, dangerous magic beckons still, and with it the chance to rule not just Mytica, but the whole world over…

At the heart of the fray are four brave young people grappling for that magic and the power it promises. For Cleo, the magic would enable her to reclaim her royal seat. In Jonas’s hands, it frees his nation, and in Lucia’s, it fulfills the ancient prophecy of her destiny. And if the magic were Magnus’s, he would finally prove his worth in the eyes of his cruel and scheming father, King Gaius, who rules Mytica with a punishing hand.

When Gaius begins to build a road into the Forbidden Mountains to physically link all of Mytica, he sparks a long-smoking fire in the hearts of the people that will forever change the face of this land. For Gaius’s road is paved with blood, and its construction will have cosmic consequences.

 

Leave a Reply

