Heir of Fire, by Sarah J. Maas

4 waiting on the action stars!

heir

Non spoiler…

Okay so there really isn’t anything I can say about this book that won’t spoil you for it or the first 2 books.  So you should probably go read all of those and then come back to my review so we can chat about how awesome this series is…..

………..are you done reading the first 3 yet?…………no?? okay come back later……………

Oh I will say there is little action in this book compared to the first two.  However I’m sure that sets up the next two!

 

 

Spoiler………..

ACK!!! Okay so this one was different from the first two in many ways.  This one followed many POV’s instead of just Celeana and her immediate crew.  Let’s start with Manon who is a witch, like the one Celeana kills in book 2.  I really hated Manon’s parts of the book until closer to the end.  Manon is the head witch of the 13, not the matriarch just the leader of the 13.  Apparently the 13 are crazy deadly and like to hunt people and basically eat them.. ew. The witches have been asked by the king to join his side (booooo)  However they can’t fly because of the no magic thing in Ardalan.  Insert the Wyvern, what are those you ask.. DRAGONS  <insert squeeing> I love books with dragons.  Manon is sure she wants the most badass dragon Titus however whenever it’s a life or death choice for her Manon chooses a bait dragon.  What?? Yup and I can’t help but picture him like Toothless from how to train your dragon. Abraxos  seems like he can understand Manon when she speaks.  From this point on I really like Manon and her bond with her dragon.  I think after she bonds with her dragon she starts to realize there is more to life than what she is told from her grandmother.  Also if her and Celeana eventually meet up I will be so excited because they would be one hell of a team!

Okay so I’m not going to lie everyone seems to ship Rowan and Celeana and I’m over here like #teamchaol.  I can’t help it, I know it probably won’t happen but I still love Chaol.  Rowans character is introduced fairly early in this book and I’m not sure how I feel about him yet.  I hated him in the beginning, begun to understand him in the middle, and loved his friendship with Celeana and the other fae that work for Maeve. I feel like instead of a love interest he’s more a parabati (sorry shadow hunter talk)  Rowan is more like the protective big brother of her than a lover.  I loved how instead of fighting fire with fire the queen realizes that his ability will wipe out hers.  Fire and Ice make a great team which leads me to believe she will be with Dorian in the end   Why didn’t he insist more that he go with her at the end of the book? Even in Hawk form would be better than nothing right?? I loved when she almost burnt out and he was taking such good care of her and growling about it at the same time! Hilarious…

Dorian and Chaol are still at odds which hurts my heart. I adore them both and they just need to man up some and get over it.  Dorian seems to accept who he is in this story which leads to an interesting relationship with Sorscha the healer.  She makes a tonic that helps control his powers some more. Then of course Dorian starts to fall for her, which you know means she will be dying .  augh I was so excited that he had someone besides Celeana.  He is still backing Celeana 100% btw which is a great thing of him.  Then the king brings everyone into a room to question them and after Sorscha is killed Dorian kind of loses his shit and tries to kill his dad and everyone. However while Chaol is fleeing Dorian gets trapped with one of those stupid necklaces by his dad!! DAMNIT someone has to rescue him now!!!

Aedion where the hell did this guy come from?  In my mind he is this huge guy.  He is apparently Celeana’s distant cousin and was her best friend.  I really didn’t like him in the beginning but as you get to learn that he is actually working against the king you start to like him.  I adore how much he is behind Celeana the whole way.  No doubts, she doesn’t have a throne? He will build her one with bones of her enemies or something like that.  I love, love, love the bond that is created between him and Chaol.

Chaol is still my favorite even though in this book he seemed a little naïve and selfish I still love him. He didn’t have a lot of growth in this book until the end.  I wish I would’ve had more time with him in this book. I loved how he created a brotherhood with Aedion. The fact that he thought to grab Fleetfoot before fleeing the castle goes to show you how awesome of a guy he is.

Finally Celeana or Alein or whatever you want to call her. She is still kick ass.. I honestly don’t know how she copes on a daily basis with all the crap she’s been put through.  I love, love, love the friendships she makes in this book.  I love how she tricks the queen into letting Rowan become her first subject.  I just love her as an all around character.

So there you have it my ramblings on Heir of Fire.. is it my favorite of the series no.. but it definitely held up what I already come to expect from Sarah J. Maas. I will say that I was let down a little bit by the fact that it was not very action packed until the very end.  That’s okay though Celeana is still my fav.

 

Goodreads link here

book blurb…

Hardcover, 576 pages
Published September 2nd 2014 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Original Title
Heir of Fire
ISBN 1619630656 (ISBN13: 9781619630659)

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

The bestselling series that has captured readers all over the world reaches new heights in this sequel to the New York Timesbest-selling Crown of Midnight. Packed with heart-pounding action, fierce new characters, and swoon-worthy romance, this third book will enthrall readers from start to finish.

Leave a Reply

