Frozen Tides, by Morgan Rhodes

4 and the plot thickens stars!

frozen

Not even going to lie this is definitely a series that gets better with each book.  The first book I felt meh about didn’t really connect with anyone. The second one I was rooting for some side characters. The third one I was like okay I get it now…but this fourth one was amazing.  As far as plot lines go some of it was predictable, and some of it wasn’t.  However the deaths just keep piling up in this one!! I can’t even stand it, I’m afraid to like anyone!!Then that ending was kind of like BAM!! Plot twist…

 

Ok so it will probably be spoilers from here on out so if you haven’t read up to and including Frozen Tides please don’t read past here…

Okay let’s talk about Cleo … She has finally grown into herself in this book. Every book before this I kind of wanted to smack her around.  She seems so naïve for having gone what she has so far. However in this book her layers seem to come undone and she seems to grow into a woman.  I’m so proud of some of the decisions she makes in this book.  While I will say her love with Magnus is kind of predictable I’m glad it took 4 books to get there. Also her speech that she makes about Magnus to his city is wonderful I loved it.

Magnus has finally become a man, and I don’t mean the man his father wanted him to be. I’m so proud of him in this book and he has been my most hated character the last couple books.  Once he finally pulls his head out of his ass. I love that he teams up with the rebels to help him take over the kingdom.

Nick is still my favorite character… which means he will probably die… so sad.  He seems to finally be coming into his own too. This book is just full of people growing into the strong characters they should’ve been since the beginning.  The end plot twist with him… Ugh that kills me.

Jonas is slowly falling from my favorite character list. He seems to be back peddling right up until the end of the book. I really liked that he will align himself with Magnus to take back the kingdom. I like how he evolved from wanting everyone dead to only wanting the right people dead.  He also seems to find his own niche in this book.  Almost like he finally belongs to this misfitted family.

Felix is a newer character of course but I feel like he should almost have his own book.  For all the crap he goes through is unreal.  I thought because I liked him as a side character he was for sure going to die in this one. He didn’t but I really thought it was possible. I hate how many men fall into that evil princesses hands!! I mean come on guys think of something other than your little captain.

Lucia is such a royal pain in the ass. She’s this amazing sorcerer who seems to believe an evil god?? I’m sorry but wake up honey everyone has used you so far in your life except Magnus and you just tortured his ass.

Am I missing anyone? No I didn’t think so… I do want to say the way that Magnus and Cleo finally come together was done really nice… and it’s about dang time!!

goodreads link here

Hardcover, 413 pages
Published December 15th 2015 by Razorbill
Original Title
Frozen Tides
ISBN 1595147071 (ISBN13: 9781595147073)
CLEO: Reeling after a bloody showdown in Limeros ending with Amara’s abduction of the water crystal, and a vacancy in the Mytican throne, Princess Cleo must cast aside her feelings and look toward her kingdom with the eyes of a Queen.MAGNUS: With the kingdom in chaos, Princess Lucia still missing and quite possibly in danger, and a shocking realization about Cleo, the steely prince is once again torn between love and duty, leaving him wondering whether he’s strong enough to rule his people.

LUCIA: The young sorcercess has had her vengeance after the cruel death of her first and only love. Heartbroken and unable to trust anyone, she allies with the awoken Fire god, who also seeks revenge.

JONAS: After escaping death by the skin of his teeth, the defeated rebel—along with a mysterious stranger–leader reunites with Princess Cleo, only to find himself a mere pawn in a dangerous hunt for the elusive Kindred.

KING GAIUS: Abandoned by Melenia and betrayed by his own children, Gaius flees Mytica and sails to Kraeshia, where he attempts to ally with the famously brutal emperor across the Silver Sea.

Leave a Reply

