In Ruins, by Danielle Pearl

3 emotional train stars!

in-ruins

 

This book is New Adult Romance, it is a second chance at love story. I’m a such a sucker for second chance love stories.  In Ruins follows Tucker and Carleigh from high school sweet hearts into college enemies.  Of course since they were in love in HS they planned on attending the same college.  You can tell right off the bat that they will be bumping into each other a lot through college.

 

Let’s start with Tucker… while I get where his anger is coming from he’s a little to possessive for an ex. He obviously still loves Carl but doesn’t know what to do with those feelings since he broke up with her.  Tucker doesn’t seem like he would be an in depth emotional character, but when you get to see the flash backs of the relationship throughout the book you become more attached to both of them. Tucker is trying to move on from Carl but she is constantly put into his orbit and now they have to do a class project together. I loved the relationship between not only Carl and Tucker, but Tucker and Cap his best friend.  It goes to show how men can rely on each other through thick and thin.  Basically if you need help just call no questions asked.

Carliegh was a great character… while you get to see she lives in a great mansion and could want for nothing she actually wants a lot.  What she wants you can’t buy and that is a united family unit. Her mom is always jet setting, her dad is away, and her brother has outgrown looking up to his sister. I really admired how Carl just stepped up to the plate for her younger brother. In the flashbacks you can see that Carl’s friends are her family. Carleigh would bend over backwards to help anyone, including the man who hates her… Tucker.  She can’t blame him for the rage he feels towards her. After all she is the one who ruined their relationship. However as Carl begins to experience college life she realizes that Tucker is being unfair to her as a person.  I love how towards the end of the book she starts standing up for herself.

Overall I really felt for these characters and loved the writing.   I really enjoyed that the author threw some real life situations into this novel.  One of the big situations was people thinking it was okay to talk about having sex with unconscious women and how that is not acceptable. Why the three stars you ask then?? The only couple things that really bugged me were unrealistic expectations of steamy scenes.  Don’t get me wrong steamy scenes in books can be very realistic but most teenagers don’t understand the female anatomy the way that it was portrayed in this book.  I get it, it’s fiction so it bothered me but not enough to put me off continue reading it. Also I felt the end was a bit rushed, a lot happened in the last couple chapters that was just like .. what.. just…happened…and…why???

This book is a spin off of Danielle Pearl’s previous YA novels.  So if you have read the YA novels I assume Carl and Tucker are in there.  However since I did not read the previous books I would like to say that I did not feel left out at all.  Most of the background story was covered without being overwhelming. Also even though this is a NA novel I felt it was a little bit more steamy than the normal NA novels.

This book is out today!!! So if it sounds like your cup of tea then by all means go buy it. Thank you to Netgalley, Forever Romance, and Danielle Pearl for my advanced copy in lieu of my honest review.

Goodreads link here.

book blurb..

Paperback, 400 pages
Published October 4th 2016 by Forever
ISBN 1455568333 (ISBN13: 9781455568338)

Freedom. When Carleigh Stanger thought of college, that was the word that came to mind. Freedom from her unhappy home life. Freedom from high school mistakes. Freedom from the memory of that terrible morning. Only instead of bringing a sweet escape, Carleigh’s first campus party traps her in the scornful gaze of the last person she wants to see, Tucker Green.

It wasn’t long ago that being close to Carleigh was everything Tucker wanted. But that was before he realized she was just another scheming girl who’d do whatever it took to get her way. Even lie to the guy she claimed to love. Unfortunately while Tucker’s brain remembers the pain Carleigh caused, his body only remembers the pleasure . . .

5 thoughts on “In Ruins, by Danielle Pearl

  1. Great review! I honestly don’t know what to think about steamy scenes in YA novels. And especially f it’s really unrealistic I can see why that would make you want to give one star less. It happened to me as well with my latest book. I love realistic relationships, I don’t find that too often in contemporary YA. Do you think explicit steamy scenes are OK in YA?

    Like

  2. Great review! You really put a lot of thought into it and the book. I can understand why unrealistic sex scenes bother you. Actually I don’t think explicit content fits into most YA books. Still; I find some bizzare attempts at it all the time, resulting in me rating down the book. What do you generally think of YA and steamy scenes?

    Like

  3. Great review! You really put a lot of thought into it and the book. I can understand why unrealistic sex scenes bother you. I usually don’t like explicit content in YA books and I feel like it doesn’t work out usually, but there are still a lot of stories that try to press one in. Usually ends in me rating down the book. What do you generally think of YA and steamy scenes?

    Like

  4. Great review! If an author puts realistic situations into the stories, then it’s really something I enjoy reading. I can identify more with the characters if they’re not super heroes who can do just about anything and have never fears, or any flaws. What about you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

