A Monster Calls, by Patrick Ness

5 had me crying like a baby stars!!

monster

It’s not very often that a book has me crying at the end.  This book was completely unexpected. I knew it was going to be good because I haven’t seen a bad review about it. However I didn’t read the blurb before I started and was caught by surprise about the plot. A Monster Calls is a fast paced read; I think it could be read in two hours or less. It follows a young man and the monster that comes to him every night. I’m not sure what I can tell you about this book that won’t be a spoiler.  It’s such a short book that anything I say may be a spoiler.

The plot was amazing, the writing was fantastic, the imagination… it was just good overall!!

goodreads link here

book blurb…

Paperback, Un-illustrated, 237 pages
Published May 7th 2015 by Walker Books (first published 2011)
Original Title A Monster Calls
ISBN 1406361801 (ISBN13: 9781406361803)
Conor has the same dream every night, ever since his mother first fell ill, ever since she started the treatments that don’t quite seem to be working. But tonight is different. Tonight, when he wakes, there’s a visitor at his window. It’s ancient, elemental, a force of nature. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor. It wants the truth.

Patrick Ness takes the final idea of the late, award-winning writer Siobhan Dowd and weaves an extraordinary and heartbreaking tale of mischief, healing and above all, the courage it takes to survive.

7 thoughts on “A Monster Calls, by Patrick Ness

    1. I wouldn’t say depressing it is thought provoking for sure. It is a sad book but not depressing. I think I just feel for the main character because what he is going through is similar to my situation just years apart. lol and yes this is such a short book definitely under 2 hours if no interruptions happen 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It seems this author likes to write thought provoking books. I was planning to read More Than This this fall but I saw a blogger’s review and it sounds depressing so I returned to the library.. I may consider of it when I’m sad I guess.. hehe..

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This review is rather short, but I have a feeling you haven’t gotten over the hangover, yet 😉 I’m actually so excited about this book, I want to start reading right now. Your excitement was not only there, it is contagious!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

