Queen of Shadow by Sarah J. Maas

4 need more to start stars!!

queen

Finally!! This book took me forever to finish.  The reason for the 4 stars you ask??? Well the beginning was unbelievably slow. I felt like we were just talking ALL the time.  The characters were having conversations but not actually getting anything done about their relationships or lack there of.

From here on out it will be SPOILERS for anyone who hasn’t read this series up through this book so read below at your own risk….

I have to start of by saying I am team Chaol all the way… I don’t know why I never pick the correct couple but I love Chaol.  Even though he did some crappy things in the beginning that lead to worse things. He should be forgiven since I believe Celeana has don worse things.  (just saying) I did not care for where his character went in this book.  Yes we got some things resolved but I don’t think he would just be fine with Aelin being in love with someone else. I also don’t think he would just all of a sudden want to spend his life with Nesryn (I feel like her character was just thrown in because he needed a love interest) I cannot believe what happened to him in the end!! I was like WTH and almost through the book.  Can you tell I have strong feeling for this poor fictional guy!?

Aelin or Celeana depending on what you want to stick with. She royally ticked me off in beginning of this book.  She is usually an amazing heroine but I felt like in this book she couldn’t live up to her potential without Rowan beside her. Then Rowan finally shows up and all is well in the world.  I did love how she turned back into the kick ass woman that we need to see.  She seems to have made everything all right in the world for a moment. At least until the next book I guess.  I wonder how she is going to defeat the rest of the evil in the world.

Rowan… he was just Rowan for all of his age and superiority he acts like he’s only a teenager.  I don’t know why Rowan rubs me the wrong way but he does. I’m sorry for all of you that adore him I just don’t see it.

Aedion her cousin was probably one of my favorite characters.  He’s so raw and honest… I really like how he undoubtedly loves Aelina no matter what.  It doesn’t matter that she was an assassin and hid away without helping him. He minds but gets over the fact that she took the blood oath with Rowan first and not him. He begrudgingly becomes a “brother” to Rowan even though he’s pissed at him. I have no idea what is going on between him and Lysandra but I kind of dig it.

Manon surpassed Aelina in this book for me.  She actually grew as a character.  Manon seems to finally be coming into her own.  The fight between her and Aelina was awesome and if/when they become a team the whole world better watch out!  All in all I like her character better than anyone else in this book. I’m interested to see where the plot line goes with her little chamber maid.

All in all I will of course read the next book because I love Sarah J. Maas, but I really hope there is more character growth and less of a lull in the beginning.

 

Goodreads link here

book blurb..

Paperback, 645 pages
Published September 1st 2015 by Bloomsbury UK
Original Title Queen of Shadows
ISBN 1408858614 (ISBN13: 978140885861

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

 

8 thoughts on “Queen of Shadow by Sarah J. Maas

  1. This series is very popular and I’m glad you got some enjoyment out of it after the dragging start… I don’t think I’ll ever read it though… not because “I’m too good for it” or anything, I just don’t feel compelled enough! Oopsie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The end of the year is near!! I’ve finally got your waffles coming in today if all goes right btw :). I ordered several packages to do a thorough taste test first. Because I care.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. They arrived. My husband asked why on earth we ordered 7 packs of waffles :’). But I think I found the winner already and will be popping them in the mail before the weekend I hope! Haha go for it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

