The Sacrifice by Indrajit Garai

4 thought provoking stars!!

The Sacrifice

I was pleasantly surprised by this book containing three short stories. Even though the last story is the only one titled Sacrifice, each novella contains a giant sacrifice made by one or more family members.  I’m really not sure how to write this review without giving away many spoilers for the book, so bare with me if I ramble.

The writing style for this book was so unique. Almost instantly I felt compelled to just sit and continue reading without stopping.  You are immersed into this world of outside thinking.  Always thinking about someone else, or how the water looks, or how those dogs get along. It takes you out of your troubles for a bit and lets you look into someone else’s struggles.  How are they coping with their struggles and what is the sacrifice made to turn the tables in their favor. Even though these are novella’s I felt as if they did not leave me wanting in any way.  Would I like to see more of what goes on with the characters in the future. Of course who doesn’t, but these characters know how to pull themselves out of anything and come out on top.

I think if I had to pick a favorite The Move would be my favorite novella, maybe because it’s about a farmer and I can relate to that more? Either way each story tells such compelling stories in such little time.  If there was a dislike I could place on this, is I want more.  More about the people, I can feel where they are and what their struggles were.  However because they were novellas they skipped quite a bit of information.  Although I guess that’s what makes them so thought provoking.  Is using your own mind to figure out what the characters next moves may be.

excerpt…

I move to the clearing and whistle. Within seconds, the two adult falcons circle over my tree, then sit near their nest. That chick is so lucky to have parents like them.

I return to the root of my tree and lean against her trunk. The velvety moss makes a comfortable cushion to sit for hours, when I need to be alone and think. Well, not exactly alone.My tree hosts a world of birds and animals and insects, some of which I have been trying to identify for months. They don’t bother me, though”

 

Thank you to Indrajit Garai for sending me a copy to review.  I really enjoyed it, and highly recommend it.

book blurb..

 

Paperback, 218 pages
Published August 25th 2016 by Indrajit Garai
ISBN 1519735308 (ISBN13: 9781519735300)
In this collection, meet:
Guillaume, who gives up everything to protect his child; young Matthew, who stakes his life to save his home; and François, who makes the biggest sacrifice to rescue his grandson.

 

4 thoughts on “The Sacrifice by Indrajit Garai

Leave a Reply

