Knight’s Shadow (The Greatcoats #2), by Sebastien De Castell

5 epic adventure stars!!

Knight's Shadow (Greatcoats, #2)

I am so glad I started off 2017 with this book!! I loved the first book in this series Traitor’s Blade but this second book blew me away!  These two books had so much action and witty dialogue that you can’t help but be enthralled by all of the characters. These books have wonderful characters who you can root for, a brotherhood you’ve been dying to join, action that you didn’t even see coming, and hilarious witty remarks from Falcio and his merry men.

I’m not sure how much I can divulge without giving away spoilers seeing as it’s the second book! So from here on out you are forewarned there may be spoilers ahead.

“Is that the entirety of your plan?” Brasti asked again. “To stand here while those dogs in black tabards come to kill us? Because I have to say it sounds a lot like all your previous plans.”

“You have to admit,” I said, “it’ll make a hell of a story. We’ve even got a real Bardatti out there somewhere to make sure it gets heard.”

He grinned, “Well, we could go with your approach-I mean, it sounds very noble and I’m sure the tale of Falsio at the Battle of Aramor will be both romantic and tragic at the same time.  On the other hand. I have a different plan.”

While Falcio may be the leader of this motley crew he doesn’t seem to realize it.  I think that’s so brilliant he’s a leader that always looks to his peers for advice.  The fact that throughout this whole book they refer to him as Falsio made me chuckle every time!! Everyone spreading this story of the infamous Falsio… 😀  I love Falcio’s character he is so stoic yet heads into battle without an exact plan, yet comes out at the end of the battle like he planned it that way the whole time. This book was a little more rough for me, I thought that Falcio went through a lot in the first book.  This second book however has all different kinds of torture lined up for this poor hero.  Yet he always comes out wiser and stronger, I really hope that he makes it to the end of the series.

Brasti may be my second favorite character.  You get to see so much more from him in this book.  I already know he is an amazing friend, but this book proves that he is an amazing human being.  Usually Brasti is the one with the smart come backs and the ladies man.  However in this one, we get to see what breaks a man like Brasti.  When he does break, it will also break your heart.  He is such a light-hearted fellow who would’ve known he was carrying such a heavy burden all this time.  When he does come back to himself he has transformed into someone that others will follow and look up too!!

Kest is a complex fellow, and of course being the Saint of Swords is no easy thing. We have yet to see him really break out of his character.  He seems to be the buffer between the world and Falcio.  I enjoy that he is always taking care of his fellow greatcoats. I was hoping to get a little more from Kest’s character in this book and we get some but not all… maybe he will break out in the next book like Brasti broke out in this book?  Also what happens to him by Falcio’s hand in the end.. that was rough.  I mean he just keeps going like the freaking energizer bunny … there is no stopping Kest.

Overall this may be one of my favorite new series and I can’t wait to get my hand on the next book!  Although Mr. De Castell did kill off one of the characters I was so excited to see again in this book… I will read the next one 😉

Goodreads link here.

book blurb…

Paperback, 592 pages
Published May 3rd 2016 by Jo Fletcher Books (first published December 8th 2014)
Original Title Greatcoat’s Lament
ISBN 1681445131 (ISBN13: 9781681445137)

Following his beloved debut, Traitor’s Blade, Sebastien de Castell returns with volume two of his fast-paced fantasy adventure series, inspired by the swashbuckling action and witty banter of The Three Musketeers. Knight’s Shadow continues the series with a thrilling and dark tale of heroism and betrayal in a country crushed under the weight of its rulers’ corruption.
A few days after the horrifying murder of a duke and his family, Falcio val Mond, swordsman and First Cantor of the Greatcoats, begins a deadly pursuit to capture the killer. But Falcio soon discovers his own life is in mortal danger from a poison administered as a final act of revenge by one of his deadliest enemies. As chaos and civil war begin to overtake the country, Falcio has precious little time left to stop those determined to destroy his homeland.

 

9 thoughts on “Knight’s Shadow (The Greatcoats #2), by Sebastien De Castell

Leave a Reply

