Red Rising (Red Rising #1), by Pierce Brown

5 Bloodydamn Stars!

Red Rising

Why oh why did I wait so long to read this book!!I kept putting it off for some reason. I’m so glad I did read it though. What a wonderful world Pierce Brown created. It took a couple chapters to get the language down and the world imagined in my mind. After you get that it just turns into a marathon of what comes next?? I had to include a picture with the author this time. I normally don’t but he has been labeled as the hottest young adult author.  What do you think?  (I really enjoy him as an author besides book writing he seems very likable, outgoing and adventurous. He also calls himself a nerd which I like.)

This world or worlds has been set up on a color system. Reds at the bottom and Golds on top. There are other colors in between and you do learn quite a bit about them in this first book but not in a overwhelming way. Darrow a red and is a hell diver for his group. He basically dives into the pits of hell of mars to get the glory or the Laurel. They are fighting for the Laurel each “section” that wins the laurel gets more supplies and luxuries. Finally Darrow has won and he can’t wait to win some nice things for his wife Eo. (btw really enjoyed the names) The Reds are finding Laurel so the other colors can move to Mars. They are trying to make it livable. Eo knows what Darrow does not that Mars is already livable and they are  slaves. She tells Darrow to strive for more. Based on some really crappy circumstances it looks like he will have to fight for the Reds.. fight for Eo. Here’s the blurb on the back.

“I live for the dream that my children will be born free,” she says. “That they will be what they like. That they will own the land their father gave them.”

“I live for you,” I say sadly.

Eo kisses my cheek.  “Then you must live for more.”

I must just say that tears were shed for many in this book. It was heartbreaking at times but was also uplifting at times. Pierce weaved it so well that you weren’t down for long. The strategy behind the games were so well thought out. I was never sure what Darrow was going to do next or what other players were going to do. I really enjoyed Mustang’s character but I’m still up in the air on whether I trust anyone yet.

The language in this book is something else you have to get used to.  My favorite word in this book is BloodyDamn and I’m pretty sure I will start using it soon.  (Not around the kids though ha!)  BloodyDamn this was such a good book!! I BloodyDamn recommend it!!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.