Love, and you by Gretchen Gomez

5 the strength is within you stars!!

love, and you

Paperback, 142 pages
Expected publication: April 4th 2017 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN  1542662958 (ISBN13: 9781542662956)
one day i met a guy
who stole my heart,
we created a world
for ourselves.
and another day
he broke my heart
and shattered
my soul.i took the tattered
pieces of this
broken soul and
became anew.

– here lies the hurting, the healing, and the learning

This book should be read by every woman, whether she is in her teens, twenties or older.  I think every generation of woman could learn something from the poetry in this book.  When my daughter has her first heartbreak I will give her this book, when she has her second heartbreak I will give her the book again….are you sensing a pattern?
I have been following Gretchen’s blog for a while now @Chicnerdreads and she would  post poetry to her blog sometimes.  Her poetry would always blow my mind, so much so that I have commissioned a fellow artist to make a piece out of one of her poems.
I normally don’t read poetry, however having previously read Gretchen’s poetry on her blog I knew I had to request an advanced copy!  I was so lucky that she agreed  to let me review it.  🙂   This book had me crying tears of joy and tears of sadness.  I felt her frustrations and her fears.  This book could be relate-able to every woman, we have all had that one relationship that wasn’t good for us that we just couldn’t quit.  That one relationship that you always go back to, even though it hurts you more.  Until enough is enough and you find out you are worth more.
“i learned that life lets you
meet people in order to
find yourself
and sometimes you just
come out stronger than
before because that’s
what life wanted out
of you.
a better person”
I do not want to spoil the whole book for you, but I do want to say you should go buy it as soon as it is available on April 4th 2017.  If you don’t think it’s for you then I highly suggest you buy it for a female friend or relative because trust me she needs to read it.
Thank you to Gretchen for allowing me an advanced copy in lieu of my honest review.. . In all honesty…you rock!!!!
gretchen gomez

Gretchen Gomez – Gretchen Gomez is a writer and blogger from Bronx, New York. First generation Puerto Rican. She’s been writing poetry since the age of 11 and although silenced for many years, she cut the ties with silence. “love, and you” is her first published poetry collection and she is working on other collections at the moment. Gretchen makes art out of all her past experiences.

You can find her here:
blog: chicnerdreads.wordpress.com
twitter: chicnerdreads
instagram: chicnerdreads
tumblr: chicnerdreads.tumblr.com

21 thoughts on “Love, and you by Gretchen Gomez

  1. AHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *insert crying .gif* thank you so much for reading my book. I am so honored that you took out of your time to read it. I’m speechless and just in a bubble of happiness right now. Thank you for supporting me and being there. Thank you for being a beta reader!!! and thank you for being my friend!
    You definitely got the concept of this poetry book and that makes me really happy because as the person who wrote it, sometimes we think the message is clear when it isn’t. It sucks that women go through this but I just hope they all find their light in their darkness. Or save themselves sooner…thank you for understanding the message. thank you thank you thank you ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *insert hugs* you deserve awards for this book!!! I will be telling everyone about it!! Go BUY it… now… !!! I meant what I said EVERY woman should read this book, heck even men should read it. It’s amazing just as you are…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “This book could be relate-able to every woman, we have all had that one relationship that wasn’t good for us that we just couldn’t quit. That one relationship that you always go back to, even though it hurts you more. Until enough is enough and you find out you are worth more.” YES Debby! Oh my goodness, my 1st read through left me speechless but the 2nd time we were editing it, i just couldn’t stop thinking THIS BOOK WILL HELP HEAL! through many conversations I had with Gretchen we realized that that journey hasn’t been easy. Gretchen’s poems will speak to many & the fact that its so raw gives it that authenticity. Great review! i’m so glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. 😂😂😂 I sure did quote your lovely review 💕 can’t wait to push it on my blog & Bookstagram 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼 libraries are a good way to go as well 🤔 I gave Gretchen the name of a bookstore that helps promote Indie authors in the heart of Brooklyn, it’s a start 🙂

        Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.